0

Precautions before Selling a MacBook Pro


Precautions before Selling a MacBook Pro

Precautions before Selling a MacBook Pro

Apple products like MacBook Pro and many more are equipped with many advanced features at these modern times, which may allow passerby to steal your private details and information once they catch a hold of your device. What if you are about to sell your MacBook Pro to an unknown customer? Can you imagine the height of risks that may come upon you if you have not cleared your device of all the private and essential information and files? And this is where the knowledge is required for taking precautions before selling your product to someone else.

Why should you take Precautions before selling MacBook Pro?

The reasons are innumerable, yet can be summarized into few ones.

  • If you are logged in to your Gmail accounts, the new user can track your credentials and can do blunder with the help of it. Same is applicable with iTunes or iCloud.
  • Again, if your bank details or any other information is stored in certain locations, it can be exploited on a greater scale by the new user.
  • All the cookies and histories saved in your browsers are equally dangerous for it can reveal many of your on-goings on the internet.
  • To maintain the privacy of your personal data and information.

Thus, this article would give you the instructions on what measures should be taken before selling your MacBook Pro which are basically the deletion of all the essential files and contents off your device. The measures given here in this article generally provide you the means to know as to how to clear your MacBook Pro of all the files stored in it, which on falling on wrong hands may cause you great troubles.

# 1. Delete Cookies and Histories from MacBook Pro

C:\Users\Manojit\Desktop\work again\technical article 12\1.jpg

This method would tell you how to delete cookies and garbage files from browsers like Safari browser which is common to MacBook Pro users.

Step 1.Go to the “Safari” menu and click on the “Safari Menu”.

Step 2.Click on the “Preference” option from the drop down list.

Step 3.Now, go to the “Privacy” tab and click on the “Details” button. This will display all the cookies stored there.

Step 4.After you have found out the locations, click on the cookies and press “Shift” key while clicking to include multiple adjacent contents, or “Ctrl” key to select multiple non-adjacent contents.

Step 5.Once you have done this much, click on “Remove” to remove particular cookie, or “Remove all” to delete the entire list of cookies.

Step 6.Click on “Done” option after you have finished deleting the cookies and then close Safari Preference Window.

# 2. Sign Out from iCloud/iTunes

C:\Users\Manojit\Desktop\work again\technical article 12\2.jpg

As you all know that the contents and media files of Apple products can be stored on a server called iCloud, which is a facility provided for Apple users. Follow the following guidelines to sign out from iCloud on your Mac:

Step 1.In case you use ‘Find My Mac” or other iCloud features on your Mac device, you should first make duplicate copies of your iCloud data.

Step 2.Once you have done this, go to the “Apple menu” and click on “System Preferences”, then click on “iCloud” and undo the “Find My Mac” checkbox to disable it.

Step 3.Again in the “System Preferences” tab, select “iCloud” option and click on “Sign-Out” button.

Step 4.While signing out, you will be asked if you wish to delete all iCloud data from your Mac. Although all your iCloud data will remain on the other Apple devices as well for the same Apple Account.

# 3. Sign-Out from App Store

C:\Users\Manojit\Desktop\work again\technical article 12\3.JPG

When you use app store for downloading your applications, you need to sign-in with your Apple login ID, thus while selling the MacBook Pro to an unknown user, you better sign-out from there as well so that the user cannot do mischief with your account opened on your device.

Step 1.Open your Application folder on your device.

Step 2.Click on “App Store” to open it.

Step 3.Go to the “Store Menu” at the top of the screen and click on “Sign-Out”.

Step 4.You can also click on the “Featured” tab and then on the “Account” option.

Step 5.You would get to see an option named “Sign Out”, click on it to sign out from the account and your job is done.

# 4. Sign out from iMessage

In case you are a user of OS X Mountain Lion or later, you need to sign out of iMessage where all your private message credentials such as bank notifications, personal texts, and many more are stored.

Step 1. Go to your “Messages” app, select “Preferences” and then “Accounts”.

Step 2.Now select your iMessage Account, and sign out from there.

# 5. Deletion of all Media contents

All you media contents, such as pictures, videos and songs should all be deleted before selling your MacBook Pro. It would be a pointless step to hand over the iDevice to someone with all the media contents stored in it for which you are not at all being paid and the user can access them free of cost.

Step 1.Go to “Settings” and then to “General” option. Select “Storage & iCloud Usage”.

Step 2.Under the “Storage” option, tap on “Manage Storage” and then select “Music”.

Step 3.On the new music window, swipe left on “All Songs” and then tap “Delete”.

Step 4.In the same way, under the “Manage Storage” option, select “Images” and “Videos” as well, and swipe them on the left and tap “Delete” and your will be done of clearing the media content.

# 6. Re-installation of iOS

  • Hold Command-R to reinstall the current MacOS without upgrading to a newer version.
  • Hold onto the Option-Command-R in order to upgrade to the latest MacOS version which is compatible to your iDevice.
  • Hold Shift-Option-Command-R to upgrade to the closest version available.

Step 1.Start “macOS Recovery”, and tap on “Reinstall MacOS off the utilities window.

Step 2.Once you are done with this, click on “Continue” and you will be prompted to choose and Startup disk and click on “Install”.

Step 3.Now your Mac would restart after your installation procedure is completed.

# 7. One-Click Tool to Wipe Mac Clean (Optional)

To be honestly, it would take a lot of time if you followed the steps one by one. So if you were looking for a more convenient way, then you should give it a try on SafeWiper Data Wiper for Mac. It has several useful features to erase all data on mac, free more space or wipe deleted files from the drive.

The steps are simple. First download and install the program on your Mac. And select a data wiping mode and the target device you wish to erase. Finally, choose a deletion algorithm from the list and start deleting files from the computer. You can check this demo tutorial on how to wipe mac permanently.

Conclusion:

Selling any device especially when it is an Apple Product like MacBook Pro, you should take all the possible precautions to safeguard your contents stored on your device. Once fallen into the wrong hands, many tricks can be assaulted upon you by the new user, and you might have to pay really high for those tricks and trades.

Thus make sure you have deleted all your histories and cookies, content files, have signed out from all your accounts online before selling the product.

If you have found the article really reliable, please share it on social media and subscribe to our website.


Precautions before Selling a MacBook Pro


Sajid Adeeb

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *